The "Berg-Schola," the world's first institute of technology, was founded in Selmecbánya, Kingdom of Hungary (today Banská Štiavnica, Slovakia) in 1735. Many members of the first teaching staff of Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BUTE) arrived from Selmecbánya.
BUTE is considered the oldest Institutes of Technology of university rank and structure in the world. The legal predecessor of the university was founded in 1782 by Emperor Joseph II, and was named ("Institute of Geometry and Hydrotechnics").
The 1956 Hungarian Revolution was partly launched by students at the university, followed by many professors. In 1967, the two technical universities seated in Budapest were merged to form the Technical University of Budapest, with six faculties (Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Architecture, Chemical Technology and Biotechnology, Electrical Engineering and Informatics, Transportation Engineering).
In 2000 – two years after the Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences and the Natural Sciences was established – the official name changed to Budapest University of Technology and Economics. The first department of Electrical Engineering of the University was founded in 1893. The first head of the department was Károly Zipernowsky, one of the inventors of the closed-core transformer. The Department of Electric Power Engineering (VET) is considered to be one of the successors of this department. Donát Bánki was a Hungarian mechanical engineer, inventor and professor on the BUTE, where he obtained a mechanical engineer degree. The Department of Mechanical Engineering (GPK) is very proud onto him.
The BUTE functions as a divisional organization with the divisions comprising the faculties and the students' local authorities (HÖK, to give them their Hungarian initials).
The University reputation has been growing by the approx. 5000 international students, who graduated here. Number of BUTE students are 24000. Number of degrees issued by BUTE in 2010 was more than 3000.

« back

IYCE 2007 IYCE 2009 IYCE 2011 ESZK